Radish Panzanella

salad

How not to do salad.

Whenever I hear someone say they don’t like salad, I get a little sad inside.

I love salad. 

It’s fresh and flavourful and so good for you!

My theory? If you say you don’t like salad, you just haven’t had it made right. Because honestly, I don’t care much for lettuce, tomatoes, cucumbers, and carrots in a bowl. This was the salad I grew up on, and – sorry, Mom! – it just wasn’t that great.

But then I went to college, where some days the salad bar was the only edible thing around, and I learned to add Craisins and nuts and beans to my salad. I learned to combine flavors and textures to make something delicious.

So this summer, now that fresh produce is in season and I finally have a smartphone, I want to highlight some of the salads that I eat. I get it, this is a totally dorky series of food posts. Please don’t give up on this blog – I have some posts on teaching and Christian living coming soon! But salads are delightful, and I want to inspire people to break out of the tomato-and-cucumber-tastes-like-I’d-rather-be-fat rut.

Here’s what I had today: radish panzanella.

My new book, The Flavor Bible, assures me that radishes go really well with bread, and so a bread salad (that’s basically what a panzanella is) with radishes made sense. To the radishes and bread I added red onion, chickpeas, a little bacon and cheese, parsley, and Craisins. The Craisins were a great addition; their tart sweetness paired nicely with the peppery radishes. I topped the whole thing with a yogurt dressing.

Here’s the full recipe:IMG_0267

  • 3 radishes, sliced thinly
  • 1-2 TBSP Craisins
  • 1 TBSP chopped parsley
  • 1/4 cup chickpeas
  • 1 slice bacon, fried
  • 1-2 TBSP feta cheese
  • 2 TBSP chopped red onion
  • 1 slice bread, torn into pieces and toasted

I’m running low on spinach, so I didn’t add it, but some gorgeous green spinach would be a nice addition. Once I’d chopped everything up, I made the dressing:

  • 1 TBSP plain yogurt
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1/4 tsp minced bottled garlic
  • 1/4-1/2 tsp honey (to taste)
  • 1/4 tsp white balsamic vinegar
  • Salt & pepper

I shook the dressing together, stirred it into the chickpeas, then added the ingredients that weren’t likely to crumble: the onion, radishes, parsley, and craisins. Over the whole thing I added the bread, bacon, and cheese.

Delicious!

 

2 thoughts on “Radish Panzanella

  1. Looks good – maybe make a double batch and keep some overnight. I think Panzanella is supposed to improve the next day, but depends how soggy you want to the bread maybe, although you could add extra croutons.

Leave a Reply

