Beet & Apple Pasta Salad

IMG_0336Another entry in my summer salads. The next post will be back to serious stuff, I promise! (Though food is serious!)

Only last summer did I learn to like beets, and this is a fantastic way to enjoy them. The earthy beet flavors were balanced nicely against the tart sweetness of the apple and the dressing, with the garlic adding a nice kick. Also, the crunchy apple and soft roasted beet and boiled pasta played well together.

Here’s the specifics:

  • 1-2 small beet, roasted and then chopped
  • 1/2 medium apple, chopped fine
  • 1 TBSP minced red onion
  • 1 tsp minced garlic scape
  • 1 TBSP sharp cheddar cheese
  • 1/4 cup chickpeas
  • A few leaves of spinach and basil, to taste
  • 1/4 cup pasta, cooked
  • 1 TBSP each olive oil and lemon juice; 1 tsp white balsamic vinegrette; dollop prepared Dijon mustard and honey

Because this is a salad, the directions for assembling this basically amount to “mix everything together.” I did that, then left it in the refrigerator for half an hour, so the flavors could develop. Then I took it out, topped it with bacon, and ate it.

I should note, when I roasted the beet I erred on the side of under-roasted, rather than over-roasted; I wanted the beet to be al dente. Also, if you can’t find garlic scapes, adding minced bottled garlic either to the dressing or the salad would work as well. One final note: I got the idea for this salad from this blog here, but since I only had a few of the ingredients mentioned, I used different ones instead. Creativity is the mother of invention.

In any case, this was wonderful. Highly recommended if you like beets, and if you don’t, perhaps the salad will help you learn!

It was wonderful.

IMG_0337

Leave a Reply

