Prayers for Our Country, Week 2

This week, I pray that God through Christ will redeem us from our anger, even viciousness, towards each other, and make us peaceable people. From the Book of Common Prayer:

O God, you made us in your own image and redeemed us
through Jesus your Son: Look with compassion on the whole
human family; take away the arrogance and hatred which
infect our hearts; break down the walls that separate us;
unite us in bonds of love; and work through our struggle and
confusion to accomplish your purposes on earth; that, in
your good time, all nations and races may serve you in
harmony around your heavenly throne; through Jesus Christ
our Lord. Amen.

Peace, of all things I am praying for this last month before the election, is perhaps the most needed.

Personally, I have tempted time and again towards arrogance, even anger.

One of my colleagues at work has a sticker outside her office for the candidate I am not supporting. Every time I pass that sticker, I resist the temptation to yank it off her door. A friend of mine makes a snarky comment about the candidate I am voting for, and again I bite my tongue.

I am thankful for the Lord’s grace towards me, in helping me keep silence when I am tempted to speak unkindly. But this is not enough. I pray that I will not feel unkindly, either. I pray the same for you, and for my colleague and my friends, and those of us in the United States who seek to walk with God at this time.

Whatever our differences, may we be one in Christ.

And I pray that those who are not in Christ may find Him, so that they too may share in our unity – if not now, then in Heaven.

Even so come, Lord Jesus.

 

 

Leave a Reply

